The funny side of a brain injury

My Broken Brain

Last week, I was asked to think of something encouraging that has come out of my illness, surely I must be able to think of at least one. My mind went blank. I could not think of one positive thing.

Although thinking optimistically about the whole ordeal may be somewhat difficult, perhaps the only way to really come to terms with everything is to laugh.

Humour and brain injuries though.

Do these two really go?

While many of you may think it a little insensitive; for us (the sufferers) making light of the situations we find ourselves in is one of the best coping strategies I have come across.

This weekend brought about the Encephalitis Society’s Annual Member’s Meeting; a weekend that enabled me to see the amusing side of having a brain injury.

One of our guest speakers (James Piercy) envisaged this idea showing some of the…

View original post 385 more words

Author: jennygx

My name is Jenny, I live in Bournemouth with my boyfriend Martin and 2 cats Mystie and Tipsy. I was diagnosed with Anti-NMDA Receptor Encephalitis in August 2014, my whole life was completely changed and I created this blog to try to piece together forgotten memories with texts and social media posts I had sent during my month of madness. I now use the blog to raise awareness for Encephalitis and brain injuries and to connect with other survivors.. I am still slowly recovering, it is a long process and extremely hard but every day is a step closer to a healthier me!

Leave a Reply

